Pokemon Scarlet and Violet’s new evolution methods explained

Pokemon Scarlet and Violet’s new evolution methods explained

Since the release of Pokemon Scarlet and Violet, the latest generation of the series has seen many new evolution methods.

While pokemon scarlet and Violet show the return of some traditional evolution methods from previous generations, such as using rocks or other unique items, it’s no surprise to fans that some brand new methods have been introduced. Each generation has always seen the development of new methods of evolution, from the unusual way players can evolve Nincada with an empty party slot and a spare Poké Ball to get Shedinja, or literally turn Incay upside down to transform into Malamar. But while some methods are retained, such as Diamond and Pearl’s evolution based on location and movement, others are not so lucky.

Some of the new methods of evolution Pokemon Scarlet and Violet are fairly simple and self-explanatory, while others are somewhat more complex and require patience, coordination, and strategy. From the return of the methods of evolution recently seen in Pokemon Legends: Arceusto completely new methods based on scarlet and Violet new mechanics, there’s a lot to unravel, from regional evolutions like Kingambit to quirky gimmicks like Palafin.

New & Updated Stone Evolutions

Proven core product Pokémon The franchise is numerous rock-based evolution methods for dozens of Pokémon. The best-demonstrated evolution of Eevee from his original trio of thunder, fire, and water stones, the mechanic has since been expanded upon with new stones and even replaced previous evolution methods. For example, Eevee’s evolution in Leafeon and Glaceon was once location-locked prior to Gen 8, which were eventually replaced by ice and leaf rocks. For scarlet and Violet the same thing happened with the location-based evolution of the Crabrawler in Crabominable as it was replaced with an ice stone.

In addition to updating the previous evolution, scarlet and violet also introduce three new Pokémon lines that use rock-based evolution techniques. For example, both Tadbulb and Cetoddle require Thunder and Ice Stones respectively to transform into Bellibolt and Cetitan. The exception to the three is Capsacid, who breaks patterns, instead requiring a firestone after reaching level 30 to transform into a Scovillein. What makes this unique is that Capsacid is a grass type, which makes firestone an odd method of evolution out of context, but given that Scoville is pokemon the first herbal/fire type, it makes sense. .

New & Updated Item Evolutions

Pokémon item-based evolution methods have had their share, often giving some Pokémon unique items to store or use to evolve, such as recent Sword and Shield The DLC introduces Galarica cuffs and wreaths for Galarian Slowbro and Slowking, respectively. But keeping in mind the Gen 8 DLC, specifically the first Isle of Armor DLC, Kubfu and Urshifu made it into Pokedex Paldea. However, Kubfu’s means of evolution on Armored Island were specifically tied to its story and certain locations, so scarlet and purple replaced them with Scrolls of Darkness. and Water for any form of Urshifu.

Similarly, Armarouge and Ceruledge were revealed at the beginning scarlet and Violet’s and were among the first Pokémon to be confirmed as exclusive versions for Gen 9. Now that the games are officially released, fans know that these Pokémon are actually part of the same evolutionary family, going back to Sharkade. Looking almost as if it were a direct parallel to Cubfu, Sharcadet also evolves with a specific unique item denoting his possible Psychic or Ghost type he evolves into, either of which are exclusive to scarlet and Violet: auspicious armor for Armarouge and sinister armor for Ceruledge.

The latest new item-based evolution method is a bit more unusual. After Gimmigul was revealed through Pokémon Goit didn’t take long for the players to realize that the unique gold coins Pokémon somehow related to its evolution. After scarlet and Violet’s Upon release, fans quickly figured out that Rogue Form Gimmiguls could be found in Paldea, and Chest Gimmigulas could be caught. Each gave the player a few coins, and with 999 coins at the next Gimmigul level, he evolved into Gholdengo.

New evolutions of walking

Thanks scarlet and Violet “Go”; A mechanic allowing players’ Pokémon to roam freely, several new Pokémon for Gen 9 have unique evolution methods based on the number of steps they’ve taken, just like the steps required to hatch an egg. Three Pokémon were specially introduced with this evolution method, including Paumo, Rellor, and Bramblin. After walking 1,000 steps each, these Pokémon will then evolve into their final stages of Pawmot, Rabsca, and Brambleghast, respectively.

New evolutions based on movement

Much like the motion-based evolution presented in Diamond and Pearl from the 4th generation and last appeared in Legends: Arceus from 8th generation, scarlet and violet similarly, three new evolutions based on movements are introduced. For Girafarig and Dunsparce, it’s pretty easy: they only need to level up knowing the Twin Beam and Hyper Drill moves respectively to transform into Farigiraf and Dundunsparce. However, the evolution of Primeape Annihilape is taken from Legends: ArceusA new movement-based method that requires Primeape to use the Rage Fist move 20 times before advancing to the next level, reminiscent of Overqwil and Wyrdeer.

New random evolutions

Possibly the strangest of all new scarlet and Purple evolution methods, Tandemaus will randomly transform into Mauschold once he reaches level 25, and like Shedinya’s sudden appearance, he will do so without warning the player. Moreover, Maushold, along with the likes of Dundunsparce, actually has two forms, of which one is the rarer of the two. For Maushold, these are the “Family of Three” and “Family of Four” forms, and the Pokedex has specific entries for both that reflect this unusual evolution method.

New Combat evolutions

From the odd to the particular, Kingambit’s recent introduction to the Pawniard line requires more strategy and patience when it comes to developing Bisharp. Probably reminding players of the unusual evolutions of Sirfetchd and Runerigus, Bisharp’s evolution not only requires him to hold the Leader’s Crest item, but the player must use said Bisharp to then defeat three other Bisharp also holding the Leader’s Crest. These particular Bisharps can only be identified in the overworld by their accompanying Pawniard, making Kingambit a uniquely difficult evolution to complete.

New multiplayer- Evolution based

Similar to the new evolution method tied to the Let’s Go mechanic, another evolution method is also tied to the new multiplayer features scarlet and violet presented in the games. Currently, for only one Pokémon to turn Finizen into the nearly indistinguishable Palafin, the player must level Finizen above level 38 in local or online multiplayer. While at first the only difference is Palafin’s new heart on its belly, its unique second form, which can only be seen after switching and re-powering, is what makes the evolution of the Dolphin Heroic Pokémon worth all the hassle.

pokemon scarlet and violet are now available for Nintendo Switch.

Pokemon Scarlet and Violet’s new evolution methods explained

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *